7 Month Update

It’s hard to believe that I have now been in Israel for over 7 months!  The time has truly been flying by, and I only wish I could slow it down.  I was recently rereading some of my original blog posts I had this weird feeling.  It feels like forever ago that I wrote those posts about beginning my year and starting in my school, but at the same time, it seems like just last week I was first meeting my teacher and the students.  Throughout the seven months there have been ups and downs, but I have loved every second of it.

One of the biggest hurdles I have faced recently was homesickness.  Yes, it may have taken 7 months for it to hit, but I definitely have had the missing-home blues recently.  The last few weeks have been particularly tough being so far from all of my friends and family.  I am very fortunate that this hadn’t hit before, but I think that I have had such an amazing support system, that I never truly felt like I was missing out on life back home.  For the first half of the year, I had my parents’ trip to look forward to, and for the first couple months after, I still had the lingering feeling of spending that time with them.  Although, once March came, the feeling of homesickness hit hard.  At the time, I had recently accepted a spot in an additional month long program in Israel for the month of July, which extended my time here from another 4 months to 5 months until I get to see my family again.  Also, I found out that one of my best friends in the entire world decided to move their wedding up to June, which means I would still be in Israel.  With all of these compounding factors, I think the homesickness took over, and made these last few weeks some of the most difficult weeks I’ve had since living here.  But, no matter, I have been talking with my friends a bunch on messenger, and had a great conversation with Savannah on FaceTime, so it helped me overcome some of those feelings.

Also, these next few months have a lot of amazing things to look forward to, so I can’t be sad going into April!  On Friday, my Spring/Passover break begins with an early flight to Europe!!!  I am still kind of in disbelief that I will be taking my first ever Euro-Trip, and it is less than a week away!  After that, I will return back to Israel in time to share the Passover Seder with my teacher and her family.  After that, I have another week and a half of break to explore and hang with friends.  When school resumes after break, I will be leading an English Day at my school, which is 2 hours of fun, English themed activities that I have planned, all based on There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly.  It is supposed to be a day to spark even more interest in my students’ love for the English language.  April ends with what I’ve heard Israelis call the “Yoms”.  Yom HaShoah (Holocaust Remembrance Day), Yom HaZikaron (Israeli Memorial Day), and Yom HaAtzmaut (Israeli Independance Day) are all just one week apart.  I’ve always seen videos shared on social media of the sirens that go off to mark the beginning of Yom HaZikaron, where the entire country stops for an entire minute, and I can only imagine what I will feel experiencing it for the first time.  May brings lots of happiness as well, with the first of the summer Detroit Taglit-Birthright trips that my brother will be on.  It will be great to see him here and to be able to spend time with him.  We will take a Bina trip to Jerusalem near  the end of the month, and then it is already time to start saying our good-byes.  With Tel Aviv Pride, my birthday, and the end of the program all within a few short weeks, I’m sure June will be a whirlwind of feelings and emotions.

This year had truly been a blessing, and I cannot believe how much time has already passed.  These last few months will definitely be months of memory making that I will cherish forever.  And, before I know it, it will all be done and over, and I will be on a plane back to the states to see all of my amazing friends and family!  I love you all and can’t wait to see your faces again soon!

Leave a Reply

